

MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE CONGREGATION COUNCIL OF GRACE EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH

Rm 108, 21 Carroll St., Westminster, MD 21157 www.gracelc.org Meeting held on Monday, July 18, 2016 at 7 p.m.

Lutheran Members Present: Council President Ron Fairchild, Don Meyers, Carrie Oddis, Rev. Martha Clementson, Rev. Kevin Clementson, Linwood Van Horn, Rich Chaney, Treasurer Bill Comegna, Bob Lichtfuss, Arthur Pease, Kevin Dayhoff, Patt Patterson Jones, Kari Ebeling,

Members Absent: Donna Kent, Jan Mickey, Jo Monka, and Brian Sherfey

<u>Call to Order</u> - President Ron Fairchild called the meeting to order at 7 p.m.

<u>Devotions</u> – Kevin Dayhoff shared a meditation entitled, "Greater than our fears from a prayer booklet distributed by the church, "Christ in our Home." It was written by Katherine Ewald Olson, an associate pastor at First Lutheran Church in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

A motion was made by Linwood Van Horn, and seconded by Arthur Pease to approve the minutes of the meeting on June 20, 2016. The motion was carried.

A motion was made Don Meyers to adopt the agenda. The motion was seconded and the July 18, 2016 meeting agenda was adopted.

<u>Forward in Faith Discussion</u> – John Auger is the vice president of the Delaware-Maryland Synod. He joined the meeting, at our invitation, to discuss the Synod's 'Forward in Faith' campaign. He was joined by Laura Russell, who is a member at St. Ben's and serves as the synod's ambassador for our conference.

Mr. Auger shared a PowerPoint program that explained the initiative, 'Vision 2018.' It is a campaign to raise \$2.5M for the Delaware-Maryland Synod 'Forward in Faith' is moving forward through the ways of discipleship, connectedness, communication, and leadership.

The key focus of Vision 2018 "is to help each congregation discern and live out their unique mission in their community." We are paralleling the ELCA campaign, "Always Being Made New."

There was some discussion as to what can we do to get our congregation involved – and congregational goals for the 3-year campaign – 156 weeks. More information about the campaign is available at: http://www.demdforward.com/.

Mr. Auger and Ms. Russell then left the meeting.

<u>President's Report</u> -A discussion followed about the presentation. We determined that the action item was for the executive committee to come back to council at our September 19th Council meeting with a more detailed report and a proposal for how we could consider participating in the Campaign. We anticipate taking formal action on Forward in Faith at that meeting.

The president called everyone's attention to the bulletin board outside the kitchen to see pictures of the recent Grace mission trips to Baltimore and South Carolina.

The president had a good report on the successes of vacation bible school and Pastor Kevin's role as 'surfer dude.'

It was reported that the first meeting of the co-senior pastors' review committee went well. The review committee anticipates having a report available for the council by September.

Ron thanked the pastors for their leadership of in response to recent national and international events.

Ron called to our attention the financial 'summer slump.'

Pastors' Report

There was a brief discussion by the pastors of upcoming visits to contemporary worship services at other congregations.

Treasurer's Report

Report by Bill Comegna. After his presentation, a discussion continued about the summer financial slump in the church. Pastor Kevin noted that some of the new members of the congregation might be a good resource. Ron suggested engaging a small group of people in brainstorming solutions to our stewardship challenge. A motion was made and seconded to accept the treasurer's report.

<u>Committee Reports - There were no committee reports.</u>

<u>Prayers of the Church</u> – Kari Ebeling shared a prayer for peace, healing, and grace. Arthur Pease shared a prayer for peace amidst violence, and Pastor Martha, in part, asked for prayers for the outgoing synod leadership and the incoming leadership.

New Business

Vote to approve formation of ad hoc committee related to current events: Pastor Martha had first mentioned this initiative in a sermon several weeks ago and already several folks have come forward to volunteer their time. A discussion continued by Pastor Martha and Pastor Kevin, and Ron, about the need for deeper

conversations about how to be the body of Christ in the midst of the violence and brokenness in our world.

Rather than establish a committee, the Council affirmed the need for additional conversation to better define and focus the objectives and emphasis of the initiative. It is evident that we are living in a time when the world presents many challenges for those who seek to be disciples of Jesus and participate in God's mission in the world. Age old prejudices are being expressed with renewed passion in the midst of increased political rhetoric in this election year. Human fear has been heightened by the activities of ISIS terrorists and many acts of homegrown violence. Division among people in our own country is clear. Against this backdrop, we are called to be faithful in living out God's redeeming love. A motion was made by Patt Patterson Jones and seconded by Don Meyers and Bob Lichtfuss affirming the need for dialogue related to how Grace Lutheran church can live out its vision statement of building relationships with God and community in the context of current events to be led by the pastors. The motion passed.

Announcements

There was a brief discussion about personnel and staffing issues.

Adjourn with the Lord's Prayer

Respectfully submitted: Kevin E. Dayhoff, substitute council secretary for Donna Kent

Our Mission: Gifted with God's grace, redeemed by God's Son, and filled with the Holy Spirit, we grow in our relationship with God, one another, and community. Through word and sacrament, we gather to worship, learn, and go into the world empowered to serve.

Council members:

Co-Senior Pastors Rev. Martha Clementson, and Rev. Kevin Clementson

Rich Chaney (1st term expires Dec 2016)

Don Meyers (1st term expires Dec 2016)

Patt Patterson Jones (1st term expires Dec 2016)

Carrie Oddis (1st term expires Dec 2016)

Jan Mickey (1st term expires Dec 2016)

Bill Comegna (1st term expires Dec 2017)

Bob Lichtfuss (2nd term expires Dec 2017)

Ron Fairchild (2nd term expires Dec 2017)

Johanna Monka (2nd term expires Dec 2017)

Linwood Van Horn (2nd term expires Dec 2017)

Kevin Dayhoff (2nd term expires Dec 2018)

Donna Kent (2nd term expires Dec 2018)

Brian Sherfey (2nd term expires Dec 2018)

Kari Ebeling (1st term expires Dec 2018)

Arthur Pease (1st term expires Dec 2018)